4. The Look

When caught in the act of anything, boys always resort to “the look.”  You know exactly what I’m talking about.  The blank stare of bewilderment.  The starry gaze of indecisiveness.  Then after a long stare, they add the quizzical nose scrunch at the end.  It’s the look.

The look is what boys give you when they have nothing else to offer, most often when they are bewildered by the current line of questioning.  The sort of questions that are nearly always followed by the look include:

  • “Why is there a string of toilet paper going across the floor of this whole house?”
  • “How did hand lotion get all over the windshield of the van?”
  • “Where is the gigantic tub of peanut butter that was in this cabinet two hours ago?”

Because boys have zero logical answers to questions like these, they have developed the look as their primary line of defense.  You may also experience the look during many moments which involve no questions at all, such as rounding a corner and discovering boys drawing huge crooked dinosaurs on the light blue curtains in their bedroom using Sharpie markers.  No words spoken.  No words needed.  Just the look.

It’s a moment that can bring the universe to a halt for quite an extended period of time.  I’ve experimented with just locking in and holding the look, attempting to discover if the boy will ever waver.  He will not.  My record is nearly two minutes, and nothing.  Finally I am forced to break the standoff, usually with some brilliant fatherly line like “What are you doing?”

Since I have analyzed this moment extensively during my vast experiences with boys, I’m fairly certain that I can interpret the thought processes within the mind of boys when the look is actually taking place:

  • “Oh man.  This is not good.  Should I confess?  Oh wait, I NEVER CONFESS!!”
  • “But I’m holding the marker right in my hand!  Quick, hide the marker.”
  • “Brownies are brown, like mud.  But they sure taste better than mud.”

It is extremely important for you to gain a thorough understanding of the look very early in your dealings with boys.  You’re going to be seeing a lot of it.

19 thoughts on “4. The Look

  1. Too many times to count. But he would often follow it with a slight grin…which pretty much disarmed me. Being a Dad prepared you for high blood pressure when you got older. “Dad”

  2. I know Ron is telling the truth, I spent MANY years with Tony as a kid, and I ( never having given “the look” myself) wittnessed exactly that MANY times….

  3. My 19 month already knows ‘the look’ and when asked “what are you doing” he promtly says “I-O-Know” …with the look.

  4. Pingback: 16. Global Warming | Stuff Boys Do

  5. Pingback: 19. Lose their Shoes | Stuff Boys Do

  6. Pingback: 24. Stand Up at the Table | Stuff Boys Do

  7. Pingback: 33. Ignore Utensils | Stuff Boys Do

  8. Pingback: 38. The Household Item Hijack | Stuff Boys Do

  9. Amazing! This blog looks exactly like my old one!
    It’s on a completely different subject but it has pretty much the
    same page layout and design. Superb choice of colors!

  10. May I just say what a relief to uncover somebody that
    truly knows what they’re talking about over the internet.
    You definitely know how to bring a problem to light and make
    it important. A lot more people need to check this out and understand this side of the story.
    It’s surprising you are not more popular because
    you most certainly have the gift.

  11. Feel free to surf to my webpage Starting up from luxury desire vehicles, exotic
    locations, airborne stunts and considerably far more, this sport will satisfy
    your need for speed and adrenalin rush. The best bird spiders feature
    a glue-on base, which allows them to be easily attached to most
    surfaces. Garden designs can be difficult at best, and
    magazines can supply gardeners with inspiration and
    ideas on what will look good and suit their area.

  12. Hi there! I could have sworn I’ve visited this web site before but after browsing through a few of the posts I realized
    it’s new to me. Anyways, I’m definitely happy I discovered it and I’ll be bookmarking it and checking back regularly!

Leave a Reply

