Photo Friday

A moment of personal indulgence here…

At 11 p.m last night, the Photo Friday post was done and ready to go.  Another couple of funny shots you sent of your boys doing all that stuff boys do.

By midnight, a change of plans.

As a 12-year-old boy with a new radio near my bed, I tuned through the AM static one night in 1985 and came upon a golden voice describing the game as the St. Louis Cardinals made an amazing run to the World Series.  I’ve been bleeding Cardinals red ever since.

Last night brought us several of the most unpredictable, impossible, unthinkable World Series moments ever, stacked one on top of another.  Some are already calling it the greatest World Series game ever played.  I won’t even attempt to do justice to a description.  Not when epic writers like Jayson Stark have already penned works like this.  Take a few moments and you’ll instantly see why he’s one of my all time favorites.

No matter what happens in Game 7 tonight, this series will go down as a a true fall classic.  I loved watching these guys battle back, and I hope you don’t mind if I share a few choice photos from the Game 6 heroics.

As I perused the images today, already legendary, the moments of celebration grabbed my attention.  Grown men – very rich grown men – jumping around like wild lunatics.  Ripping the shirt off the hometown hero, who grew up idolizing the same birds on the bat that I did, and this night found himself smack dab in the middle of the childhood dream of millions of mid-American boys.  And coming up the hero.  Twice.

Look at them…  They are dirty.  They are crazy.  They are joyful.

They are the boys of summer.




11 thoughts on “Photo Friday

  1. I thought this was a blog about the crazy things our beloved boys do, not what your beloved “boys of summer” do. I guess you can change the format when you have your own blog. Go Cubs! (and yes, I know they are not in the world series, and it’s been over 60 yrs since they were) But, I still hope the Cards win it all tonight.

  2. It’s my blog, I can do what I want. lol Just glad we finally got off the losing streak you got us started with on Sunday night! Back to the crazy elementary school boys next week! 🙂

  3. LOVE IT, Tony! I remember the year we watched the World Series on the little, 6 in. black&white TV, listening to Jack Buck on KMOX radio at the same time! What memories! What a run the Cards gave this year! Thanks again, for being my ‘Jack Buck’ of the internet, and making it all come alive again, from all the way down in Honduras! Loved watching my 13 year old boy get all excited about ‘his’ team! Way to go Cards! Freese is THE MAN!!!

  4. Not a big sport fan – but I get your enthusiasm. For our family it’s watching Marines march by, or Sailors guard the rails. Watching a soldier strap on his gun, an Airman clear a plane for take-off, or a Coastie pull someone out of the waves. This is when we see little boys’ dreams coming true.

    It’s a great thing to see –

    I’m glad your team won and your boys could see their dad as a 12 year old again, if just for a few hours. What a great thing to instill in them, a passion for something bigger than themselves! 🙂

    • Agreed! We took our two oldest to the airport last year to greet veterans returning from “Honor Flight” where they fly WWII vets to DC to tour all the memorials for the day. Awesome celebration and greeting from the community. Stuff like that is good for kids!

  5. Love this post!!! You’re right, there’s nothing like seeing the true excitement on their faces. I could almost hear the crack of the bat and smell the hot dogs and beer as I scrolled thru the photos……

  6. Pingback: Photo Friday | Stuff Boys Do

Leave a Reply

